Voters go to the polls from 07:00 in the morning and until 19:00 in order to highlight the new municipal and regional Authorities of the place.

The strength of the electoral body numbers 9,775,181 Greek citizens (465,218 are voting for the first time in local elections), as well as 17,957 European citizens.

The special electoral lists of non-citizens, emigrants, sailors and prisoners, which apply to parliamentary elections, European elections and referenda, do not apply to self-governing elections. Therefore, these categories of voters can exercise their right to vote only in the municipalities, in whose electoral rolls they are registered.

Information on the address of the polling station where you are voting is provided through the electronic platform “Learn where you are voting” on the website of the Ministry of the Interior which is also accessible from Relevant information is also provided by the telephone line 2131361500, as well as by the local KEP and the Municipalities.

The identification of voters for the exercise of their right to vote is based on their police identity card or the relevant temporary certificate from the competent authority or their passport or driver’s license or the individual health book of all insurance funds. It is noted that any “cut” ID cards, as well as an expired Greek passport, are acceptable.

The identification of voters can also be done using the digital identity card.

Military and security personnel should present their military or service IDs.

European citizens, who vote as long as they are registered in the special electoral rolls of the municipalities, are recognized with a valid proof of identity or passport.

After the exercise of the right to vote and if requested by the voter, he is given a printed certificate of exercise of the right to vote, signed and sealed by the president of the electoral committee.

Voters who, without having been deprived of their right to vote, are not included in the electoral rolls, can exercise their right to vote until the end of the voting, in any electoral division of the municipality, in whose electoral rolls they are written, as long as they have a registration certificate with them in the municipal registers, which is granted by the relevant municipality even on the day of the elections.

With absolute priority, those who cannot respond to a prolonged wait in order to exercise their right to vote, such as e.g. pregnant, elderly, people with disabilities, patients, etc., as well as those who meet service needs, such as officers of the Armed Forces, the Hellenic Police or employees performing service for the elections.

For people with disabilities and reduced mobility, a special space is provided on the ground floor of each polling station, where these voters will exercise their right to vote with the help of a municipal employee.

Voters come to the screen initially for the municipal elections and then, after casting the ballot in the corresponding ballot box, they return to vote for the regional combinations and candidates.

The maximum number of crosses is indicated on each ballot paper. In the event that someone chooses more candidates than are allowed, the ballot is not invalid and is normally counted towards the total number of ballots received by a combination, but without taking into account any crosses.

Immediately after the end of the electoral process, the opening of the ballot box, the counting of the envelopes, the sorting of the votes and the transmission of the voting results begin in each electoral division.

In electoral divisions whose numbering ends in an odd number, electoral commissions first open the ballot box for municipal elections, while in electoral divisions whose numbering ends in an even number, electoral commissions first open the ballot box for regional elections.

In the municipalities and regions where no combination receives a percentage of at least 43% + 1 vote, the elections will be repeated next Sunday with opponents of the first two candidates in electoral strength, mayors and regional governors.

The new authorities will be installed on January 1, 2024 and their five-year term will end on December 31, 2028.