The Parliament that emerged from the ballots of 21 May 2023.

Tomorrow, however, after the election of the board of the body, its dissolution is expected by Presidential Decree, after establishing the impossibility of forming an independent government or a cooperation government, and the announcement of new elections on June 25, 2023 with the system of enhanced proportionality.



It is noted that during the recent elections, which were held with the simple proportional system, five parties entered the Parliament, surpassing the relative “threshold” of 3%.

ND with 40.79% which elected 146 MPs, SYRIZA-PS with 20.07% and 71 MPs, PASOK-Change Movement with 11.46% and 41 MPs, KKE with 7.23% and 26 MPs, and the Hellenic Solution, with 4.45% and 16 MPs.


This is the second “fleeting” Parliament in the post-war history of the country, after the also two-day Parliament, which resulted from the polls of May 6, 2012.

The solemn first meeting of the ITH Period of the Presiding Parliamentary Democracy began with a consecration performed by the Archbishop of Athens and all Greece, Ieronymos. Afterwards, the deputies took the oath prescribed by the Constitution, according to the type of religion of each deputy or political oath.


The MPs started arriving at the Parliament building shortly after 17:30.

Smiling and in a particularly good mood, they were greeted with hugs and kisses, while there was no shortage of selfies in the parliamentary seats.

At their seats, each of them found a bag with books on the history of the Greek parliament.

It is worth noting that given the changes that will result from the results of the June 25 elections, some of them are not expected to be in parliament after the end of the new election round.


The deputies swore, if they wished, with a sacrificial oath, on the Gospel or the Koran, and then a political oath would follow.


Hieronymus: Be gardeners, with courage and strength

My wish is taken from the words of the Apostle: “Do not be fruitless” but carpenters, Archbishop Hieronymos said after the consecration and continued: “Carpenters, with courage and strength, as today’s circumstances require!”.

After their swearing in, the MPs signed the relevant swearing in protocol and received an information folder which included – among other things – the Constitution and the Rules of Procedure of the Parliament.

Today’s meeting was chaired by the re-elected Member of Parliament for Athens and the first vice-president of the previous Parliament, Nikitas Kaklamanis, who announced to the body which parliamentary seats the party leaders had chosen: ND president Kyriakos Mitsotakis the seat of Thessaloniki, the president of SYRIZA-PS Alexis Tsipras in A’ Piraeus, the president of PASOK-Movement of Change Nikos Androulakis in A’ Thessaloniki, the secretary of the KKE Dimitris Koutsoubas in Fthiotida, and the president of Hellenic Solution Kyriakos Velopoulos in the seat of Larissa.


Tomorrow Monday at 10:30 am the election of the Speaker of the House, as well as three Vice-Presidents, two Deans and four Secretaries from the first in power Parliamentary Group, one Vice-President, one Dean and one Secretary from the second in power Parliamentary Group is scheduled , a Vice-President and a Secretary from the third most powerful Parliamentary Group, as well as a Vice-President from the remaining two Parliamentary Groups.


The president of the ND, Kyriakos Mitsotakis, once again proposed for the office of Speaker of the Parliament the MP of Ioannina Konstantinos Tassoulas, for the first vice-president the MP of Athens Nikita Kaklamanis, for the second vice-president the MP of Lesbos Charalambos Athanasiou, and for the third vice-president the deputy of the 2nd West Attica Athanassios Bouras.

The president of SYRIZA-PS, Alexis Tsipras, proposed the MP of Ioannina, Meropi Tzoufi, as the fourth vice-president. The president of PASOK-Movement of Change re-nominated the deputy of Arcadia, Odysseas Konstantinopoulos, as vice-president. For the position of vice-president, the secretary of the KKE, Dimitris Koutsoumbas, once again proposed Larissa MP Giorgos Lamproulis, while for the position of 7th vice-president, the president of Hellenic Solution proposed the 2nd MP of Thessaloniki, Konstantinos Chitas.