AEK Almeida made history: First double since 1978 and third overall – The list in detail!


AEK won everything this year!

Despite the fact that he was playing with me ten players from the 6th minute, h “Join” prevailed PAOK 2-0 in the Panthessal Stadium of Volos and conquered it 16th Cup of its history and first after seven years!

Somehow, this year’s magical season at AEK ended in a dreamy way, since in addition to entering its new “home”, Matias Almeida’s team celebrated third double in her history and the first after 45 whole years, since it was preceded by the conquest of the Stoiximan Super League!

{“@context”:””,”@type”:”VideoObject”,”name”:”ΑΕΚ – ΠΑΟΚ | 1-0 από τον Μουκουντί με δεύτερη προσπάθεια”,”description”:”ΑΕΚ – ΠΑΟΚ | 1-0 από τον Μουκουντί με δεύτερη προσπάθεια”,”thumbnailUrl”:”×540″,”duration”:”PT57S”,”uploadDate”:”2023-05-24T18:10:53.000Z”,”embedUrl”:”″,”provider”:{“@type”:”Organization”,”name”:”glomex GmbH”,”logo”:{“@type”:”ImageObject”,”url”:”[email protected]”,”width”:136,”height”:146}},”regionsAllowed”:”GR”}

The last time the “yellow and black” had achieved something similar was season 1977/78. Then, with the late Zlatko Tchaikovsky at its helm – he had succeeded Frandisek Fandronk at the beginning of the season – and with their forwards Thomas Mavro, Dusan Bajevic and Takis Nikoloudis, AEK comfortably took the championship by finishing at +7 from the second PAOK.

A few days later he even completed the triumph, reaching also winning the Greek Cup, prevailing PAOK 2-0 with scorers Bajevic and Mavro in the final held at the Karaiskaki Stadium.

As for the first double in her history, that is dated the… distant 1938/39when he had reached the championship with two wins over him Hercules (2-0 home, 4-2 away) in the finals of the competition.

In the institution of the Cup, after eliminating Olympiakos in the semi-finals of that season, “Enosas” defeated in the final again the PAOK with a great twist (2-1) and scorers Hatzistavridis and Manetta, thus winning the second Cup in its history.

The list of doubles in detail:

Olympiacos 18 times (1946/47, 1950/51, 1953/54, 1956/57, 1957/58, 1958/59, 1972/73, 1974/75, 1980/81, 1998/99, 2004/05, 2005/06, 2007 /08, 2008/09, 2011/12, 2012/13, 2014/15, 2019/20)

Panathinaikos 8 times (1968/69, 1976/77, 1983/84, 1985/86, 1990/91, 1994/95, 2003/04, 2009/10)

AEK 3 times (1938/39, 1977/78, 2022/23)

PAOK 1 time (2018/19)

Source: Sport Fm

You May Also Like

Recommended for you