THE ruling planet It is one of the main elements of a zodiac sign, as it reveals a lot about its energy and personality. It can help in awareness of cosmic elements and its unique qualities.

But what happens when a sign is ruled by not one, but two planets?

This dual power certainly lends remarkable dimension and depth to astrological interpretation.

Specifically, five of the twelve signs they are ruled by two planets, one considered the ancient and one considered their modern ruler. This happened because, as science discovered more and more bodies in the universe, it was found that there were planets better suited to act as rulers of these signs than those already assigned to that role.

Which signs are ruled by two planets?

Taurus, Virgo, Scorpio, Aquarius and Pisces. These fascinating signs have both their modern and ancient planetary rulers and are influenced by the movements of both planets.

What does this mean in practice?

Taurus – Venus (ancient ruler) & Demeter (modern ruler)

The planet that originally ruled Taurus was Aphrodite, the planet of beauty, love, money and pleasure. THE Demeter, on the other hand, is one of the largest asteroids and is therefore referred to as a dwarf planet by astrologers and is designated as the modern ruler of Taurus. This is so new, however, that it is not yet widely accepted by the astrological community. Demeter is associated with the physical world, including the body, material possessions, and the connection to Mother Nature.

Virgo – Mercury (ancient) and Chiron (modern)

Just as in the case of Taurus, Virgo and Chiron also form a new connection. Mercury is the planet of information, the written and spoken word, and technology. Chiron, on the other hand, is actually a comet, often referred to as the “wounded healer” and represents how you delve into your own deep scars and wounds in order to ultimately heal both yourself and others. others. This element perhaps makes the connection with Virgo easier, as this sign is directly related to the 6th house of health and healing. This mutable earth sign always takes care of others.

Scorpio – Mars (ancient) and Pluto (modern)

In astrology, Pluto is the planet that rules Scorpio because it is the planet of subconscious forces. In Greek mythology he is, after all, known as the God of the Underworld. However, Scorpio is a complex sign, and its co-rulers are no exception. Mars, the ancient ruler of Scorpio, represents drive and ambition, while Pluto speaks to the deeply hidden and mysterious forces behind his ultimate ambition.

Aquarius – Saturn (ancient) and Uranus (modern)

Aquarius was once ruled by Saturn, the planet of discipline, representing tradition, order, structure and the status quo. He is also the contemporary ruler of Capricorn, who appreciates these values, unlike Aquarius, who resists and tries to break free from them. Uranus, a fickle planet, was designated as the new ruler of Aquarius for this very reason. Aquarius is a rebel. He likes to challenge the traditional and look for new dimensions in things. He is the one who constantly asks himself: “Why? What’s the point?”, thereby creating something entirely new.

Pisces – Jupiter (ancient) and Neptune (modern)

Pisces was once ruled by Jupiter, like Sagittarius. Jupiter is associated with gifts, luck, tolerance and spiritual growth. All this still characterizes Pisces, but with a twist: Neptune, the modern ruler of Pisces, is associated with dreams, psychic receptivity, illusion and deception. Neptune is a unique two-faced planet, representing the dual nature of Pisces. There are two fish swimming in opposite directions: One toward heaven and one toward the Underworld.

What about the rest of the signs?

If you do not belong to one of the signs above, then you belong to the signs ruled by a planet:

  • Aries is ruled by Mars, god of war and planet of aggression, passion and desire.
  • Gemini is ruled by Mercury, the messenger god and planet of communication, the thought process and the immediate environment.
  • Cancer is ruled by the Moon, an ancient symbol of the divine feminine and a representation of intuition, inner feelings and emotional foundations.
  • Leo is ruled by the Sun, the center of the universe and a representation of one’s soul’s purpose and purest energetic expression.
  • Libra is ruled by Venus, goddess of love and beauty and planet of charm, harmony and relationships.
  • Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter, god of the sky and planet of luck, abundance, expansion and wisdom.
  • Capricorn is ruled by Taskmaster Saturn, god of karma and planet of boundaries, limitations, structures and power.