In the formation of scientific National Nutrition Committee the Ministry of Health proceeded.

According to the relevant decision of the Deputy Minister of Health, Irene Agapidakis a 7-member National Nutrition Committee is appointed for the purpose of formulating a National Nutrition Policy, with the main focus being the protection and promotion of public health at the national level. At the same time, the Commission will give an opinion on draft legislative arrangements, in terms of nutrition, in relation to health.

In particular, the work of the National Committee includes various actions aimed at improving the nutrition and health of the public. These include the elaboration of proposals for the formulation of the National Nutrition Policy, with the aim of protecting and promoting public health at the national level. In addition, it provides opinions on legislation related to nutrition and health, as well as formulates the national position on nutrition issues based on international recommendations.

The members of the new Committee are the following:

– Naska Androniki, professor of Hygiene and Epidemiology, Laboratory of Hygiene, Epidemiology and Medical Statistics, Medical School of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (E.K.P.A.).

-Benetou Vasiliki, professor of Hygiene and Epidemiology, Laboratory of Hygiene, Epidemiology and Medical Statistics, School of Medicine E.K.P.A.

-Layou Areti, professor of Epidemiology, Disease Prevention and Public Health, director of the Laboratory of Hygiene and Epidemiology, Department of Public and Community Health, University of Western Attica (University of Western Attica).

-Manios Ioannis, professor of Nutritional Education and Nutritional Assessment, School of Health Sciences and Education, Harokopion University.

-Zampelas Antonios, president of the Unified Food Control Agency (EFET), professor of Human Nutrition at the Department of Food Science and Human Nutrition of the Agricultural University of Athens.

– Papadimitriou Vasiliki, general director of the Association of Greek Food and Beverage Industries (S.E.V.T.).

– Kondele Ioanna, from the PE Dietetics branch, specializing in Dietetics, who serves in the Directorate of Public Health and Hygienic Environment of the Ministry of Health, responsible for nutrition matters.

Naska Androniki is appointed President of the National Committee, with Benetou Vasiliki as deputy. Kontele Ioanna is appointed Secretary of the National Committee.

“The creation of the National Nutrition Committee is an important step towards promoting healthy eating patterns and tackling obesity in our country. Through systematic scientific analysis and proposals, the Commission is expected to provide support and guidance in our efforts to promote healthy lifestyles and prevent diet-related diseases. This initiative reflects our commitment to improving public health and promoting a healthy, balanced lifestyle for all citizens,” says Ms. Agapidaki.