By Antonis Anzoletou

“The integration of second Athens”. This was the famous phrase that was heard until the 2015 elections, as the largest region of the country, as well as of Europe, has always been the regulator of the elections including 34 municipalities. A typical example is the 2000 elections and the overturning of the result with the New Democracy to lose the lead by 73,133 votes when the entire district of second Athens was counted. A very interesting statistical fact is that in Athens II, a record of giving the cross to one person has been recorded, as in 1993, Vaso Papandreou collected 256,831 crosses of preference.

Since the previous elections, it is now divided into three sectors, the north, the west and the south. And what the “plastiga” will be is of great concern to the parties. With registered voters close to 1.5 million it occupies a very large share of the new Parliament. 47 deputies in total will be elected from the northern (16), from the western (12), and from the southern (19) sector. That is, approximately 1/6 of all MPs. The largest electoral district in Greece is now the southern sector.

In 2019, New Democracy won two of its three districts SYRIZA. In the northern sector with a very high score, he had gathered a percentage of 45.81% against 28.22% of the current official opposition. But also in the southern sector it had prevailed with 39.49% against SYRIZA’s 32.03%. The “castle” of Koumoundourou is considered the western sector where it had cut the thread first with 38.6% against 29.69% of New Democracy. Regarding participation in the previous elections, it was above the national average. In the northern sector it reached 66.29%, in the west 61.24% and in the south 61.15%.

The importance that all parties attach to the three specific districts is shown by the fact that most of the “heavyweights” on the ballots beyond A’ of Athens have been included in the three areas. And in fact, there were significant reinforcements of new important officials in these polls compared to four years ago. Former MPs and current politicians literally “ploughed” the neighborhoods in order to convince them about the programs and to be informed about the special features that each region has. The excursions were carried out in consultation with members of the local government who anyway in a few months, in October, will be called to fight the municipal and regional elections.

How are the municipalities distributed?

Northern Sector of Athens: Municipalities of Kifissia, Penteli, Metamorfosi, Lykovrysi-Pefki, Amaroussi, Vrilissi, Heraklion, Chalandrio, Agia Paraskevi, Nea Philadelphia-Nea Chalkidona, Nea Ionia, Galatsi, Filothei-Psychiko and Papagou-Cholargo.

Western Sector of Athens: Municipalities of Peristeri, Ilio, Aigaleo, Agioi Anargyro – Kamaterou, Petroupoli, Chaidari and Agia Varvara.

South Sector of Athens: Municipalities of Agios Dimitrios, Alimos, Byronos, Glyfada, Dafni – Ymittos, Hellinikon – Argyroupoli, Zografou, Heliopolis, Kaisariani, Kallithea, Moschato-Tavros, Nea Smyrni and Palaio Faliro.

Of the political leaders, three chose the divided second Athens. Kyriakos Mitsotakis will be a candidate, among the other two constituencies he has chosen in the western sector, Dimitris Koutsoubas in the north and Nikos Androulakis in the south.