In the presence of the President of the Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou, the Parliament of the Greeks of the 9th Parliamentary Period of the Presiding Democracy, which resulted from the national elections of June 25, is sworn in today.

The convocation of the ceremonial opening session of the new Parliament will take place at 11:00 in the morning, presided over by the First Vice-President of the previous Parliament, Nikita Kaklamanis, assisted by the four temporary Secretaries, who are the youngest MPs of the first two in parliamentary power parties.

Initially, Mr. Kaklamanis will read the Agenda, he will record in the Minutes the names of the 300 elected MPs, while he will announce to the House the letters of the political leaders for the selection of one of the three parliamentary seats to which they were elected.

Right away, Mr. Kaklamanis will invite the temporary First Secretary of the Parliament to accompany the Archbishop of Athens and All Greece Hieronymos, head of a delegation of members of the Holy Synod, to the plenary hall to perform the established consecration.

Afterwards, Mr. Kaklamanis will invite the members of parliament who wish to stand up and, in the presence of the Archbishop and his priestly retinue, take the oath prescribed by article 59 of the Constitution, which is the following: “I swear in the name of the Holy and Co-equal and Indivisible Trinity to be faithful to the Motherland and the democratic state, to obey the Constitution and the laws and to fulfill my duties conscientiously”.

The Archbishop will complete the ceremony, sign the relevant Minutes, and the temporary First Secretary of the Parliament will be called by the chairman to dismiss the High Priests from the room.

Afterwards, Mr. Kaklamanis will invite the Muslim MPs to swear in the Koran, while then the MPs who want to take a political oath will stand up.

From the ministerial seats, Prime Minister Kyriakos Mitsotakis and the members of the Council of Ministers who are also MPs will be sworn in.

The 1st vice-president of the Parliament will close the meeting, calling on the House to authorize the Bureau to ratify the Minutes and asking them, the following day, Tuesday 4 July, according to the Agenda, to come for the election of the president of the Parliament .

The deputies, before leaving, will sign their swearing-in protocol and receive the relevant documents in order to complete their swearing-in process.

The President of the Republic Katerina Sakellaropoulou will watch the swearing-in ceremony from the first row of the officials’ seats in the Plenary, who will be welcomed to the Parliament House by the Speaker of the Parliament Konstantinos Tasoulas. The other positions of the officials will be occupied by those former prime ministers, former presidents of the Hellenic Parliament, top judicial officers and officials who wish to attend. In an additional row of seats, under the seats of the officials, the representatives of foreign Churches will also sit.

Many ambassadors and diplomatic delegations of foreign countries in Athens have been invited and will attend the solemn swearing-in meeting of the parliamentarians in the diplomatic galleries, as they have informed.

Election of the President of the Parliament

On Tuesday morning, the Parliament will meet to elect the president of the Hellenic Parliament and then the vice-presidents, deans and secretaries, according to the proposals of their parliamentary groups.