Monday, January 30, 2023
HomeSportsNeymar, Vinicius Junior and Debinha are nominated for the FIFA star award

Neymar, Vinicius Junior and Debinha are nominated for the FIFA star award


- Advertisement -

Fifa (International Football Federation) released this Thursday (12) the nominees for The Best award, dedicated to the highlights of the season in football. Neymar (Paris-Saint-Germain) and Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid), from the men’s team, and Debinha (North Carolina Courage), from the women’s team, are the names of the Brazilian team that compete for the nomination as player of the year.

Among men, there is widespread favoritism for Lionel Messi (Paris Saint-Germain), who led Argentina to the World Cup title. Among women, the Spanish Alexia Putellas (Barcelona) is appointed as the favorite to receive the honor once again – she took it in 2021 and defends her crown.

- Advertisement -

There are 14 names from men’s football and 14 from women’s. The winners will be announced at a ceremony scheduled for February 27 at FIFA headquarters in Zurich. The party will also celebrate the best goalkeeper, the best goalkeeper, the best men’s team coach, the best women’s team coach and the most beautiful goal. There is also an award dedicated to fans.

The Brazilians Alisson (Liverpool) and Ederson (Manchester City) are nominated among the five finalist goalkeepers. Striker Richarlison (Tottenham) competes for the Puskás Award for the volley he scored for the national team against Serbia, in the World Cup in Qatar. And the Swedish Pia Sundhage, who directs the women’s team in Brazil, is among the six nominated technicians.

- Advertisement -

The awards are defined based on four parts of equal weight: votes from national team coaches, votes from national team captains, votes from a panel of journalists and votes from internet users on FIFA’s website. Popular voting will be open until February 3.

Check Out The Best Award Nominees

Best player:

Julián Álvarez (Argentina/River Plate/Manchester City)
Jude Bellingham (England/Borussia Dortmund)
Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)
Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)
Erling Haaland (Norway/Borussia Dortmund/Manchester City)
Achraf Hakimi (Morocco/Paris Saint-Germain)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland/Bayern/Barcelona)
Sadio Mane (Senegal/Liverpool/Bayern)
Kylian Mbappé (France/Paris Saint-Germain)
Lionel Messi (Argentina/Paris Saint-Germain)
Luka Modrić (Croatia/Real Madrid)
Neymar (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)
Mohamed Salah (Egypt/Liverpool)
Vinicius Junior (Brazil/Real Madrid)

Best player:

Aitana Bonmati (Spain/Barcelona)
Debinha (Brazil/North Carolina Courage)
Jessie Fleming (Canada/Chelsea)
Ada Hegerberg (Norway/Lyon)
Sam Kerr (Australia/Chelsea)
Beth Mead (England/Arsenal)
Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands/Arsenal)
Alex Morgan (United States/Orlando Pride/San Diego Wave)
Lena Oberdorf (Germany/Wolfsburg)
Alexandra Popp (Germany/Wolfsburg)
Alexia Putellas (Spain/Barcelona)
Wendie Renard (France/Lyon)
Keira Walsh (England/Manchester City/Barcelona)
Leah Williamson (England/Arsenal)

Best Men’s Team Coach:

Carlo Ancelotti – ITA (Real Madrid)
Didier Deschamps – FRA (France)
Pep Guardiola – ESP (Manchester City)
Walid Regragui – MAR (Wydad AC/Morocco)
Lionel Scaloni – ARG (Argentina)

Best Women’s Team Coach:

Sonia Bompastor – FRA (Lyon)
Emma Hayes – ING (Chelsea)
Bev Priestman – ING (Canada)
Pia Sundhage – SUE (Brazil)
Martina Voss-Tecklenburg – ALE (Germany)
Sarina Wiegman – HOL (England)

Best goalkeeper:

Alisson (Brazil/Liverpool)
Yassine Bounou (Morocco/Seville)
Thibaut Courtois (Belgium/Real Madrid)
Ederson (Brazil/Manchester City)
Emiliano Martínez (Argentina/Aston Villa)

Best goalkeeper:

Ann-Katrin Berger (Germany/Chelsea)
Mary Earps (England/Manchester United)
Christiane Endler (Chile/Lyon)
Merle Frohms (Germany/Eintracht Frankfurt/ Wolfsburg)
Alyssa Naeher (United States/Chicago Red Stars)
Sandra Paños García-Villamil (Spain/Barcelona)

Puskás Award (most beautiful goal):

Mario Balotelli – ITA: Adana Demirspor x Göztepe Spor Kulübü – 22.may, Turkish Championship
Amandine Henry – FRA: Barcelona v Lyon – May 21, Women’s Champions League
Théo Hernández – FRA: Milan v Atalanta – May 15, Italian Championship
Alou Kuol – AUS: Iraq v Australia – 4.jun, AFC U-23 Cup
Kylian Mbappé – FRA: Argentina v France – 18.10, World Cup
Francisco González Metilli – ARG: Córdoba x Rosario Central – 1st. Aug, Argentine Championship
Marcin Oleksy – POL: Warta Poznań v Stal Rzeszów – 6.nov, Polish Championship
Salma Paralluelo – ESP: Barcelona x Villarreal – Apr 2, Spanish Women’s Championship
Dimitri Payet – FRA: Olympique de Marseille v PAOK – Apr 7, Conference League
Richarlison – BRA: Brazil vs Serbia – 24.nov, World Cup
Alessia Russo – ING: England v Sweden – 26.jul, Women’s Euro Cup

Fifa Fan Award (best fans):

Abdullah Al Salmi (Saudi Arabia): Abdulla walked from his hometown of Jeddah to Qatar to support Saudi Arabia’s World Cup team.
Argentina fans: They came to Qatar in large numbers, showing important support for the team to win the World Cup. On their return, millions welcomed the heroes to Buenos Aires and other cities.
Japan fans: They gained worldwide recognition by maintaining their tradition of cleaning their stadium sectors after World Cup matches.

- Advertisement -

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest posts