Wednesday, March 22, 2023
HomeSportsArgentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile submit bids for the 2030 World Cup

Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile submit bids for the 2030 World Cup


- Advertisement -

Conmebol presented this Tuesday (7) the South American candidacy to host the 2030 World Cup. The idea is that Argentina, Uruguay, Paraguay and Chile share the tournament that will mark 100 years of the dispute of the first world cup.

The event took place in the Ezeiza building, in the greater Buenos Aires region, which belongs to the AFA (Argentine Football Association).

- Advertisement -

At the last minute and deviating from the agreed itinerary, the president of Argentina, Alberto Fernández, proposed that Bolivia also be part of the project.

“This candidacy belongs to the entire continent. That is why I would like and will propose that our brother country, Bolivia, also be part of this dream,” he wrote on his Twitter account.

- Advertisement -

When the idea arose, about three years ago, the proposal was for Argentina and Uruguay to share the headquarters. Gradually, new countries were added to the proposal. First, Paraguay. Then Chile.

The main point of the proposal is that FIFA returns, on the centenary of the tournament, to its origins. The first Cup was played in 1930 in Uruguay. The title conquered by Argentina, in Qatar, last December, gave new impetus to the candidacies. It was the first team from the continent to lift the trophy after Brazil, in 2002.

“We are convinced. FIFA has an obligation to honor the memory of those who made the first World Cup possible. Those men of 100 years ago, if they were here today, would be surprised at what football has achieved thanks to that dream”, said the FIFA president. Conmebol, Alejandro Dominguez.

In addition to him, the president of the AFA, Claudio Tápia and the sports ministers of the countries that are part of the proposal were present at the event.

Never has the World Cup had four nations sharing the games. The first time there was a joint headquarters was in 2002, between Japan and South Korea. The next tournament, in 2026, will be, in an unprecedented way, spread over three countries: Canada, United States and Mexico.

South America is trying to host the biggest sports competition on the planet for the sixth time. After Uruguay in 1930, the tournament was organized by Brazil (1950 and 2014), Chile (1962) and Argentina (1978).

- Advertisement -

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest posts