With 12 triathletes Greece in the “Acropolis” of fencing


The 38th edition of the Greek fencing event, the “Acropolis” Women’s Saber World Cup, will be held in the OAKA fencing hall, March 1-3.

In detail, the program:

Friday March 1 – Individual:

• 12:00 | Qualifying round & knock out to the board of 64

Saturday, March 2 – Individual:

• 10:30 | Table of 64

• 17:00* | Semi-finals and final

Sunday, March 3 – Team:

• 10:30 | Board of 32

• 16:00* | Final / short final

201 saber athletes from 37 different countries of the world will take their place on the OAKA tracks. Greece will take part with twenty gymnasts, among whom stand out Dora Goundura and Despina Georgiadou, who are ranked No. 2 and No. 6 respectively in the world. The level will be particularly high, as 49 of the top 50 athletes in the world ranking will be present, with the only absence being that of world No. 28, the German Larissa Eifler.

The World Cup in Athens is the penultimate event before the Olympic qualification period ends and there will be big battles to secure more points.

22 teams have announced to compete in Sunday’s team competition, including the Greek quartet with Dora Goundoura, Despoina Georgiadou, Marina Paizi and Athenaida Mavrikakis.

Of the 20 Greek women who will participate, 18 will start from Friday’s qualifying round with the aim of qualifying for Saturday’s main draw of 64.

There, Gundura has a guaranteed position as No. 2 in the world and Georgiadou as No. 6 in the world. Several of the youngest female epee athletes will have the opportunity to experience high-level competition and cross swords with the world’s top fencers.

In detail, the Greek women who will compete are as follows:

• Dora Goundura (AO Ariston Peanias)

• Despina Georgiadou (PAO)

• Marina Paizi (AS Victoria)

• Athenais Mavrikakis (AO Aspida)

• Alina Kouroussi (AO Apollon Vrilissio)

• Anna Geronikou (AS Victoria)

• Marilena Gazepidi (OSFP)

• Kalliopi Hatzakou (E Kostea Geitona)

• Zosiana Papadas (AO Ariston Peanias)

• Olga Kazakou (Elysian AO)

• Christina Houzouri (OSFP)

• Agni Palaska (Lygas Pentelis)

• Konstantina Saitani (Lygas Pentelis)

• Eleana Roubi (OSFP)

• Katerina Lytina (AO Aspida)

• Ismini-Maria Hatzigeorgiou (AEK)

• Alexandra Papapetropoulou (E Kostea Geitona)

• Maria Retsa (Elysian AO)

• Sunday Safari (AEK)

• Chrysa Tsokaropoulou (OSFP)

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Immediate Peak