- Advertisement -

The 1981 Alkyonides earthquakes were a seismic sequence consisting of three main earthquakes that occurred between 24 February and 4 March 1981.

On the evening of Tuesday, February 24, 1981, at 22:53, the first earthquake occurred, which had a magnitude of 6.7 on the Richter scale and caused great destruction in Corinth, Loutraki, Perachora, Agios Theodorou, Kineta, Thebes, Plataies, Caparelli, Megara, Nea Peramos, Elefsina, Mandra, Aspropyrgos.

- Advertisement -

An estimated 20 people were killed that night as they were crushed inside their homes,

The Athenians felt the earthquake and spent the night in cars, parks and squares in fear.

A few hours later, at 04:35 on Wednesday morning, a second earthquake followed, measuring 6.4 on the Richter scale and causing damage to buildings that had been affected by the first earthquake.

At daybreak, state television broadcast images of biblical destruction.

On Wednesday March 4 at 23:58 a third earthquake occurred, with a magnitude of 6.3 on the Richter scale. From this, the greatest disasters occurred in Anthoupoli Peristeri.

All three earthquakes had an intensity of 9 on the Mercali Scale (with a maximum of 12), i.e. they were “very destructive” on this scale.