Thursday, December 1, 2022
HomeSportsBrazil loses to Serbia and postpones dream of the Women's Volleyball World...

Brazil loses to Serbia and postpones dream of the Women’s Volleyball World Cup


- Advertisement -

The unprecedented Brazilian title in the Women’s World Volleyball Championship was again postponed. In the final played this Saturday (15), Brazil was defeated by Serbia by 3 sets to 0 (24/26, 22/25 and 17/25).

The team led by coach José Roberto Guimarães was looking for the trophy against an undefeated opponent in the competition and, even with tight scores in the first two sets, was unable to win any partial.

- Advertisement -

With the defeat, the Brazilian team accumulates another disappointment in finals in the history of the tournament, now with four runners-up (1994, 2006, 2010 and 2022), in addition to a bronze medal (2014).

The star of the final was the Serbian Tijana Boskovic, one of the best players in the world today, with 24 points scored in the decision. She finished the tournament as the second best striker (240 points), behind Italy’s Paola Egonu.

- Advertisement -

The main individual highlights of the Brazilian campaign at the World Cup were center Carol and striker Gabi Guimarães, with the best blocking and best reception in the championship, respectively. Gabi was also the top scorer in Brazil (214), and fifth in this regard in the overall ranking of the tournament.

Brazil’s journey in the World Cup had 12 matches and only one defeat before the final, against Japan, still in the first phase. In the playoffs, the spot in the decision came after an exciting comeback against the Japanese themselves, in the quarterfinals, and victory over the traditional Italy, in the semifinal (see the full campaign below).

On the other hand, Serbia overcame a very unfavorable record against Brazil to maintain their unbeaten record and win the title. The Europeans had 22 defeats and only three victories in the history of previous clashes.

In world championships, this year’s final was the fourth duel between the two teams. In the previous ones, Brazil had won twice (2006 and 2014) and lost once (2018).

A World Championship final hasn’t ended with a score of 3-0 since the 1998 edition, in Cuba’s two-time championship over China.

With the triumph, the European team led by Italian coach Daniele Santarelli won the championship twice in a row, after having also lifted the cup in the previous edition of the World Cup, in 2018.

Brazil’s campaign at the 2022 Women’s Volleyball World Cup

First phase (Group D)

Brazil 3 x 1 Czech Republic (25/20, 25/16, 22/25, 25/18)
Brazil 3 x 0 Argentina (25/19, 25/13 and 25/21)
Brazil 3 x 0 Colombia (25/14, 25/12 and 25/20)
Brazil 1 x 3 Japan (22/25, 19/25, 25/17, 20/25)
Brazil 3 x 1 China (23/25, 25/17, 25/22, 25/22)

Second phase (Group E)

Italy 2 x 3 Brazil (20/25, 25/22, 25/22, 21/25, 15/17)
Brazil 3 x 0 Puerto Rico (11/25, 13/25, 15/25)
Brazil 3 x 0 Netherlands (25/19, 25/19, 25/20)
Brazil 3 x 1 Belgium (26/28, 25/17, 25/11, 25/16)


Brazil 3 x 2 Japan (18/25, 18/25, 25/22, 27/25, 15/13)


Italy 1 x 3 Brazil (23/25, 25/22, 24/26, 19/25)


Brazil 0 x 3 Serbia (24/26, 22/25 and 17/25)

- Advertisement -
I am Terrance Carlson, author at News Bulletin 247. I mostly cover technology news and I have been working in this field for a long time. I have a lot of experience and I am highly knowledgeable in this area. I am a very reliable source of information and I always make sure to provide accurate news to my readers.

Related articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected


Latest posts