Perez won his second pole in a row in Saudi Arabia, Verstappen 15th due to a mechanical failure!


As last year, this year too, Mr Sergio Perez took pole position ahead of tomorrow (19/3, 19:00) Grand Prix in Saudi Arabiabut the Red Bull saw him Verstappen to retire due to mechanical failure in Q2, finishing 15th in qualifying.

THE Charles Leclerc in his Ferrari they set the second fastest time, but will start in 12th place due to the penalty imposed on Monegasque for changing an electronic unit in his car’s engine. So the Fernando Alonso with his Aston Martin he will be at the front of the starting line, with them behind him George Russell and Carlos Sainz.

The Q1 it started with Verstappen setting the fastest lap in 1:28.761, leaving teammate Sergio Perez a second and a half second slower. Leclerc was third, while Alonso set the fourth fastest lap, before going off the track with a te-ta-ke. Eventually, they were eliminated from the sequel Tsunoda, Albon, De Fries, Lando Norris and Sargentwith the latter having no time count.

At its beginning Q2 Fernando Alonso climbed first with 1:28.7 and had Leclerc behind him, while Verstappen he was moving slowly around the track when he came out of the pits, facing a mechanical problem. Ultimately, he failed to complete a lap and be timed, falling out of the continuity with them Hulkenberg, Live, Magnussen and Bootswhile Perez with his Red Bull entered Q3 being the fastest of all with 1:28.635 and having Alonso, Leclerc and Saint behind.

He was first on the track for the Q3 The Alonsoclaiming his first pole since 2012 and clocking a time of 1:28.925, but Leclerc was quick to overtake him, before Perez took the top spot with 1:28.265. In his last attempt Alonso was 4 tenths of a second slower than the Red Bull driver and settled for second after Leclerc he may have set a faster time, but tomorrow he will start 12th, due to the penalty given to him for changing an electronic unit in his engine. In the second starting row will be Russell with Mercedes and Saint with Ferrari, while the first eight were completed by Stroll, Ocon, Hamilton, Piastri.

The final ranking of qualifying tests:

Source: Sport Fm

You May Also Like

Recommended for you

Immediate Peak