Risk level 5 for fires (extreme risk of fire – state of alarm) was issued – for the first time this summer – by the General Secretariat of Civil Protection.

In detail, the areas according to degree of risk are:

Areas of risk category 5 (Extreme fire risk – State of Alert)

* Region of Attica

* Region of Central Greece (PE of Boeotia, PE of Evia, PE of Fthiotida, PE of Fokida)

* Peloponnese region (Argolida PE, Corinthia PE, Messinia PE)

* Region of Western Greece (Ilia, Achaia)

* Region of Thessaly (P.E. Larissa, P.E. Magnesia)

* South Aegean Region (Rhodes Region)

Areas of risk category 4 (Very High)

* North Aegean Region (Samos PE, Ikaria PE)

* South Aegean Region (Karpathos Region)

* Region of Crete

* Peloponnese Region (Arkadia Region, Laconia Region)

* Region of Ionian Islands (PE Kefalonia, PE Zakynthos)

* Region of Western Greece (Etoloakarnania)

* Region of Thessaly (PE Karditsa, PE Trikala)

* Region of Western Macedonia (Kozani PE)

* Region of Central Macedonia (PE of Pieria, PE of Imathia, PE of Thessaloniki, PE of Halkidiki, Athos)

Areas of risk category 3 (High)

Areas of the Regions: Epirus, Western Macedonia, Central Greece, Western-Central-Eastern Macedonia and Thrace, Northern Aegean, Southern Aegean, Thessaly, Ionian Islands, Peloponnese.